Thesis Complete!

Hey all. It’s currently just after 3:30 in the morning here at Bates. I’ll admit, it’s a fairly odd time to blog, but I have important news to announce – I have finally completed my senior thesis!

Thesis is due tomorrow by 5 p.m. but I figured I might as well stay up tonight to put in my final edits. I don’t have any class tomorrow so I can sleep in peace before handing in this culminating project of undergraduate study. I’ve worked on this thesis for the past 3+ months, so it’s exciting to reach the end of the process. The thesis itself it just under 60 pages, not quite as long as some of my classmates’ year-long projects, but certainly nothing to be ashamed of. I think it came out quite well.

My topic focused on a slave conspiracy/uprising in colonial New York City, as well as on race and class relations in the city. The topic was an exciting one, full of entertaining anecdotes about mysterious fires, ridiculous testimony and plenty of courtroom drama. Even though the editing was tedious at times, I never got sick of researching or writing. Ultimately, my research helped me discover fascinating information about not only race but also class, gender and social hierarchies of power.

I wish I had more time to expand upon this thesis, but for now it’s time to get some much needed rest. In a few days, I’ll fill you all in with what I’ve been up to the last few weeks (besides thesis!). I’ve dragged myself away from my books for some cool lectures, presentations and even a local hockey game. More to come on all of that in the near future.

I’m three papers away from Short Term and the final stage of my undergraduate career. It’s hard to believe. Until next time…

Comments Off on Thesis Complete!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.