If you’re a Batesie, performances are free!

Hey all. Last Thursday critically-acclaimed spoken-word poet George Watsky came to Bates as part of the Village Club Series. I’m a pretty big fan of spoken-word and slam poetry events so I was quite excited about Bates bringing him here.

His poems focused on a range of topics. He hit on everything from love and growing up without a single religion in his home, to more humorous topics of his lisp, his incredible dance moves, and about achieving your dreams (even if that meant becoming a robot).

The performance itself was excellent, but what was so great about the night was the way he interacted with the crowd. He sat down with the students who showed up early and talked about his recent college graduation, moving to a new city, and other everyday topics. He didn’t set up a barrier between himself and his audience, it was very much a mutual sharing of stories and ideas.

After talking with him for a little while, he asked me if I did any writing of my own. I told him I had, but had only performed once before. Surprisingly, he told me to open his set for him with a poem if I wanted to. I was a bit nervous, but he was reassuring and I decided to go for it. He introduced me to the stage by name and despite a little bit of stage fright, I was able to perform my piece. I talked with him afterwards and he was extremely supportive and had nothing but nice things to say about my spoken-word.

It’s really great that Bates brings relatively unknown artists here and hosts free concerts/performances for the student body. The small setting fosters interaction not just among students, but also between the students and the performer.

Stay tuned for my next post about going to the Common Ground Fair. I promise there will be pictures of farm animals and delicious food!

In the meantime, check out some of the pictures I snapped from my cell phone of George Watsky performing. There is also a video I found on youtube of one of his earlier performances.

Until next time…

Comments Off on If you’re a Batesie, performances are free!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.