Back to Bates!

Hey all. I am heading back up to Bates in just a week and a half!!!! As you can tell from my excessive use of exclamation points, I’m pretty excited about it.

I eagerly greet the start of the school year in large part because I am a nerd. What can I say? I love school. In fact, I was walking through the school supplies aisle of my local Rite Aid store today and got giddy just seeing the glossy new folders and the unused pencils waiting to be sharpened… okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration, and I think I’ll be singing a different tune come thesis time, but I am genuinely looking forward to cracking open the books and settling back into academic life.

On top of the nerd factor, I’m excited to return to Bates because I’ve been away for such a long period of time. Between my semester abroad and a summer at home in NY, it’s been more than 8 months since I’ve stepped foot on campus. I’m curious to see how/if Bates has changed over that time and if my experiences abroad will, in turn, alter how I see Bates.

Also, it will be my senior year. The last hurrah. The final year to enjoy all that Bates has to offer. Thesis, upper-level courses, writing for the Bates Student, volunteering opportunities, intramural sports, and a whole host of other extracurricular activities and academic endeavors await. It’s a bit daunting to think about, but I’m hoping that if I approach it with a positive make-the-most-of-it-all kind of attitude, things will fall into place and it will be a fun and successful year.

For now, I’m enjoying my final week of summer before packing up and heading north to the great state of Maine. Here’s what I’ll be seeing when I get there… I hope:

Until next time…

Comments Off on Back to Bates!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.