Sevilla and beyond…

Hey all. Two weeks have passed since I first arrived in Europe and I now feel as though I am settling into a routine. I no longer rely on my map (getting to and from my homestay is not a problem) and if I don’t know exactly where I am, I feel comfortable enough wandering until I find myself on a familiar street. I’ve also fully adjusted to the six hour time difference and have now been sleeping much better than when I first arrived.

There is very little to complain about in this great city, though I must say that the intensive Spanish grammar class I am currently in is a bit of a drag. I’d rather be out speaking to Spaniards in the streets than learning about sentence structure and the like, but I suppose learning the uninspiring grammar techniques will help me down the road. The grammar class is just a minor part of the experience and concludes this Friday so I am making the most of it and trying to absorb as much information as possible in the next few days.

I think my language skills are getting better everyday. Regular conversations with Concha (my Señora) and other Spaniards, classes taught entirely in Spanish, and daily readings of Sevilla’s local newspaper have all helped me to improve my Spanish abilities. I am a long way from fluency, but it seems I am taking steps in the right direction…

This past weekend, the study abroad program (CIEE) sponsored a free trip to Granada which was quite fun. It was nice to get a little change of scenery and Granada is really a beautiful city. We saw the Alhombra which is a huge Moorish palace dating back to the 1300’s. The palace is a mix of Islamic and Christian artistic design and has beautiful views looking out over the entire city of Granada.

I am happy to be back in Sevilla and am looking forward to many adventures ahead. Until next time…Check out some of the pictures I snapped in Granada. Hasta Luego…

View of the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range with a palm tree in the forefront:

Comments Off on Sevilla and beyond…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.