Considering Bates?

Hey all. I realize many of you are in the thick of the college process right now. I remember the stresses, the deadlines, the applications, the essays, and of course the age-old question: Do you know where you are going to school next year?

If you are reading this you are presumably considering Bates. I don’t want to add any more pressure to your hectic pre-college experience, but in the last couple of years of blogging for Bates I have written a little bit about the process which I hope will be helpful:

“I realize that many of you are in the final steps of the college process and presumably, if you are reading this blog, considering Bates. Rather than push anything on you (you’ve dealt with enough of that I’m sure) I will leave you with one piece of advice: think seriously about what you want to get out of four years of education, what type of environment you want to learn in, what opportunities each school offers, and, in the long run, where you think you will be happiest. Ultimately, it is a personal choice and I wish all of you the best of luck in the picking process. There are a lot of great schools out there and I hope you all end up in the school that you feel best fits. You’re nearing the end of the process. Hang in there and good luck. I hope to see many of you at Bates next year.”

“If you are waiting to find out… all I can say is hang in there. I applied early decision and remember how nerve-racking the wait is. It is frustrating too because you feel completely powerless over the process. After all the stress and pressure of the big tests and applications, all you can do is wait and that can be very difficult. I know it is easier said than done, but try your best to just relax and go with the flow. If you get in, congratulations. If you get deferred, hang in there and don’t give up. If you don’t get the acceptance you hoped for, don’t be hard on yourself. There are so many great schools. Bates is a unique place that is very special but that doesn’t mean there aren’t other great schools out there.

You might be thinking, ‘easy for Paul to say all this… he is already settled and happy in school’. Yes, this is true but I was in your shoes not too long ago and understand where you’re coming from. Whatever happens, try to stay positive, patient, and open-minded. I wish all of you the best of luck.”

Until next time…

Comments Off on Considering Bates?

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.