All Things Spanish…

Hey all. This week has been all about Spanish for me. The language has had a major impact on my academic life during the past few days.

Earlier last week, I was officially accepted into my study abroad program in Seville, Spain. I am extremely excited about studying in Spain for a number of reasons:

1. I will hopefully be able to achieve a high level of proficiency in the Spanish language. Learning a second language is something that I have wanted to do for a long time.

2. The program is an Advanced Liberal Arts curriculum that will allow me to take classes right alongside Spanish-speaking students directly in the Spanish University System. Hopefully this will provide me with a solid social and cultural introduction to Spain.

3. I will be living with a host family which should only help me learn the language even quicker. Hopefully, I can form a solid relationship with this family that will add to my experience… and this should be a lot nicer than living in a dorm!

4. I will have an opportunity to travel around Europe… I have never been and traveling to new places is high on my list of favorite activities.

One thing that really drew me to Bates was the focus on study abroad. I’m not sure on the exact numbers but I think just about 2/3 of Batesies go abroad. Bates provides the opportunity and the means for students to pursue academic experiences off campus and I’m very excited to be able to take advantage of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Now that I am accepted into my program, I’ve spent this past week running around and relentlessly filling out forms (student visas, contracts, etc.) so that when it is time to go to Spain, I’ll be ready and able. More info on my study abroad program once I have more details for you…

Coinciding with this past week of study abroad work and excitement has been a lot of work in my Spanish class. I had an analyzation essay about several poems due earlier in the week along with the usual Spanish workload. I always find Spanish essays tricky because I know in my head what to say and how to articulate it but putting the words down on paper (IN SPANISH) can be quite challenging.

As if this wasn’t enough Spanish language, Wednesday of last week I attended a documentary as part of the Latin American Film Series here at Bates, titled: “The Other Side of Immigration”. The film consisted of interviews of rural Mexican farmers and presented the U.S.-Mexican immigration issue from the perspective of these small-town people. The director of the film was on hand and held an informative question and answer session after the documentary was shown. Check out the website for the film.

Here is the trailer to the documentary. If you get a chance to see it, I highly recommend it:

Off to go do some Spanish studying. Until next time… Or, as they say in Spanish: Hasta luego…

Comments Off on All Things Spanish…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.