Back to Bates!

Hey all. Summer has come to it’s end and I am quiet excited to embark on another sure to be excellent year at Bates. I will be driving up on Sunday and will then prepare for classes beginning on Wednesday. It will be nice to have 2 full days to get settled in my new room and then organize and ready myself for the first day of classes. Call me nerdy or old-fashioned, but I am always pumped for the first day of school.

There is certainly a lot to look forward to this year. I am now an upperclassman. Gulp. Not sure where the last two years went… I guess time flies when you are having fun. I will only be on campus for the first semester since I am going abroad in the winter/early spring semester. I suppose that means this year is going to go by even quicker than the last two but I am beyond excited for studying abroad. More details on that as plans get finalized and settled in the near future. 

As for classes this semester, I’m taking courses in Spanish, history, and biology. Specifically, I am signed up for ‘Britain in the Twentieth Century’, a 200-level history class that seems fairly self-explanatory. Sticking with history, I am taking ‘African Slavery in the Americas’, a 390-level history course that I think will be extremely interesting and is taught by one of my favorite professors. My Spanish course is called ‘Gendered Experiences in America’s Borderlands’. This is a 300-level course that will hopefully greatly improve my Spanish speaking abilities. I’m not sure exactly what I’m going to learn but that just makes it all the more exciting. My final class is an introductory biology course titled ‘Emerging and Reemerging Infections Across the Globe’ which seems timely to me. I wonder if we will talk about H1N1? 

The next week promises to be action-packed and a bit stressful but I am ready to take it on. Junior year here I come! I am going to finish packing now…Until next time… 

Comments Off on Back to Bates!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.