Summer Reading…

Hey all. I head up to my summer job as a camp counselor in Maine on Wednesday. In the mean time, I have been relaxing and spending a good deal of time reading. Summer is a great time to catch up on all the pleasure reading that you can’t get to during the school year, and now I’ve found out that Bates recognizes that.

Each summer for the past 13 years, the Bates College Bookstore has created an annual summer reading list. The staff compiles each list after asking Bates staff and faculty for suggestions. According to the bookstore’s webpage, “Each list typically includes some 150 titles recommended by more than 80 members of the Bates community”. Check out the 2009 Bates Summer Reading List here. Click here for past reading lists over the last 7 years.

This year’s list included ‘Still Alice’, a New York Times Best Selling novel by Lisa Genova (class of ’92), and ‘Olive Kitteridge’, by Elizabeth Strout  (class of ’77) who won the pulitzar-prize for fiction for her work.

Thanks to Bates, I have been able to add to my own summer reading list (though maybe I have bitten off more than I can chew).

If your looking for some good books that I have read lately, check out: Eric Larson’s, “Devil in the White City”, Barbara Kingsolver’s, “Poisonwood Bible”, and, for my fellow history buffs out there, “American Creation” by Joseph Ellis, and “The Defining Moment: FDR’s Hundred Days and the Triumph of Hope” by Jonathan Alter.  

I’m off to go do some reading… until next time…

Comments Off on Summer Reading…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.