Summer away from Bates…

Hey all. The last week of short term flew by and, with it, my sophomore year. I suppose I am now officially an upperclassman, a thought which both scares me (senior thesis continues to creep up on me) and excites me (study abroad, more advanced and focused classes, new opportunities, etc.).

Sophomore year was a big transition year for me. In some ways I still found myself to be a freshman – continuing to learn the ropes of living independently while balancing work, play, and a social setting that doesn’t always allow for much personal space. In other ways I saw myself becoming more of an upperclassmen – picking my minor and major, beginning study abroad applications, and focusing in on ideas for my senior thesis. Overall, I became better connected within the Bates and Lewiston community, maturing personally and academically while also having a good time doing it.

I’m already looking forward to a wonderful fall semester next year and an exciting semester abroad the following semester (details in the blog as the summer progresses). 

As for my summer plans, I will be heading back up to Maine in two weeks to work as a camp counselor at my childhood sleep-away camp (about 45 mins away from Bates). It will be my third summer as a counselor at the camp, 10th summer overall, and potentially my last there for awhile. Camp is a familiar and relaxing place to spend my summer vacation and I’m looking forward to it greatly. Several Batesies, both past and present, work at the camp as well.

Stay tuned to the site, as I will be posting and updating the blog frequently throughout the summer.

Hope you enjoy these pictures I snapped during the last week of short term from the top of Mt. David (on the Bates campus) of Lewiston and the surrounding area. I tried to avoid using the cheesy-metaphoric-sun-setting-on-my-sophomore-year pictures, but I couldn’t help myself. Until next time…

DSCN0309

DSCN0311

DSCN0318

Comments Off on Summer away from Bates…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.