Early Decision…

Hey all. After taking 2 final exams and completing 3 final papers I am now officially finished with the first semester of my sophomore year. I drove home yesterday and am now ready to enjoy nearly a month-long winter holiday break. As I settle in for a break and begin to unwind, I realize that many of you reading this are not so relaxed. 

I’m not completely sure of all the deadlines but I am assuming that many of you who applied early decision (I) are finding out in a few days or just found out in the last couple days about your acceptance. Also, I am assuming some of you are considering Early Decision II (the deadline in Jan. 1st I believe).

If you are waiting to find out… all I can say is hang in there. I applied early decision and remember how nerve-racking the wait is. It is frustrating too because you feel completely powerless over the process. After all the stress and pressure of the big tests and applications, all you can do is wait and that can be very difficult. I know it is easier said than done, but try your best to just relax and go with the flow. If you get in, congratulations. If you get deferred, hang in there and don’t give up. If you don’t get the acceptance you hoped for, don’t be hard on yourself. There are so many great schools. Bates is a unique place that is very special but that doesn’t mean there aren’t other great schools out there.

You might be thinking, “easy for Paul to say all this… he is already settled and happy in school”. Yes, this is true but I was in your shoes not too long ago and understand where you’re coming from. Whatever happens, try to stay positive, patient, and open-minded. I wish all of you the best of luck. Until next time… 

Comments Off on Early Decision…

Filed under Academics, Off Campus

Comments are closed.