In the swing of things…

Hey all. I have now been back at school for more than a week and am starting to get a pretty good read on my classes. ‘Read’ being the operative word since it seems I have so much reading to do in my 4 courses.

I am taking Latin American History, Wartime Dissent in Modern America, Spanish 215, and Criminology. My classes are all compelling in their own way. In the first 3 days I have learned more than I could have imagined. From Jane Addams’ pacifistic ideals, to Thoreau’s distrust of democratic government, to Aztec sacrificial practices, to the rule of provocation and the intricacies of the judicial process, it seems there is no limit to the amount I have learned in such a short period of time. Now that I have cleaned the summer cobwebs out of my brain I am fully ready to learn even more.  

In the mean time I am trying to stay busy around campus. Writing the blog, writing for the Bates Student, gearing up for the IM sports season, and preparing to possibly join the Bates Jazz Band are the other activities that fill my days.

I am excited for another fun year at Bates. Time for some more reading. Until next time… 

Comments Off on In the swing of things…

Filed under Academics, On Campus

Comments are closed.