Summer Camp Food…

Hey all. Checking in from camp again. Things are going great and it is now a week until half-season here at camp. Soon new campers will be arriving and things will really pick up again.

Anyway… I sat down for lunch today and was thinking about what might be interesting to blog about when I realized the answer was sitting on the plate directly in front of me. Food. Bates food and camp food are not very similar. In fact, there is no doubt that the quality of the food,  the variety of options at every meal, and the diversity of cousine is better at Bates than here at camp. However there is one striking similarity. The love of chicken patties.

At Bates we have chicken patties every Saturday for lunch. At camp we have chicken patties once a week too (although here they are called ‘chicken bombers’), The ‘bombers’ are the one food that truly reminds me of food back at Bates. It makes me miss the new dining hall and the delicious food that we are lucky to have every day. Last year at camp, the summer before I attended Bates, a counselor here who was already at Bates excitedly told me of the chicken patty tradition on campus. It wasn’t until this summer that I truly understood the connection.

I guess camp food has been getting to me a little bit and I am looking for an excuse to think of the amazing Bates food. Either way I can’t wait to get back to campus to enjoy some more excellent chicken patties. Until next time…

Comments Off on Summer Camp Food…

Filed under Summer

Comments are closed.