Spring Clambake!

Hey all. Last Sunday was the BOC’s (Bates Outing Club) annual Spring Clambake. An email advertising the event promised, “a day of surf, sun, and seafood down at beautiful Popham Beach” and that’s exactly what it was. A $7 ticket payed for a lobster, clams, and pretty much all the side dishes and desserts you could eat. It was $3 dollars for a non-seafood ticket with a menu consisting of burgers (veggie and beef), hot dogs, and all the other side dishes and desserts. The ticket also provided you with a free seat on a bus down to the beach if so desired. I drove down with some friends. As for the food I went with the seafood and was not disappointed. Members of the outing club were cooking the food directly next to the beach and it was all delicious.

After eating more than I probably should have I headed out on to the beach with my friends to play soccer, throw the frisbee around, and just relax and take in some sun. It seemed as if Batesies were invading the beach. Every where I turned I saw someone I knew from Bates – from freshmen enjoying their first trip to seniors making the most out of their last Bates clambake. The day was amazing and I can’t wait until the next clambake!

Below are some pictures my friend Caroline took while we were there. Enjoy:


Comments Off on Spring Clambake!

Filed under Off Campus

Comments are closed.