Chilling at the Beach…

There’s nothing like relaxing on the beach on a sunny day. Swimming in the cool blue water, playing some beach football, reading a book, and taking a nap under some palm trees. That’s what comes to mind when I think of the beach… at least that’s what I used to think of until recently. Last Tuesday for my geology course, Earth Surface Processes, our class took a trip to Spring Point, a beach in South Portland. A Maine beach in the winter time isn’t exactly the greatest place to be. Especially when a cold wind is coming off the ocean and the windchill is in the single digits. As I collected rock samples and took land surveys I realized that my knowledge of beaches, that is, everything I thought I knew about beaches up to that point, had been completely altered. On that frigid afternoon the image in my mind of a warm tropical beach changed forever. On the bright side I did learn a lot about rock sediments and rather than being cooped up in a building handling test tubes I actually had the opportunity to take part in hands on learning. Overall it was definitely a fun and rewarding experience. Though I think I’ll wait until it gets a little bit warmer before I venture back to Spring Point.

Comments Off on Chilling at the Beach…

Filed under Academics, Off Campus

Comments are closed.