All the Small Things

I want to apologize for using the name of a Blink-182 song as the title but I couldn’t control myself because I love stuff like that. Okay now that that’s out of the way… The other night I got an email from the BOC (Bates Outing Club) about ice skating on the puddle (the nickname us Batesies give to a small pond on campus) the following day. As someone who loves ice hockey and skating in general I was excited at the prospect. The next afternoon I headed over to the puddle where the snow had been cleared off by a snow blower. At first I was a bit apprehensive because I didn’t really know any of the other people out there but I tied my skates, threw on my gloves, and grabbed my hockey stick anyway. Even though I knew few people there, I immediately felt welcomed. Before long I was playing 3-on-3 hockey with some upperclassmen. Over the next 2 and ½ hours I skated with people who had been skating for more than a decade and with people who had braved the weather and strapped on skates for the first time. Whether first-timer or expert every person I encountered was warm and friendly. Walking back to my dorm as the sun set I thought about how welcoming Batesies are. Okay I just read that back to myself and I realized it was the corniest thing I have ever written (especially that last sentence) but I stand by what I said. I guess my point is that Bates has a plethora of fun activities that allow you to meet new people and for that I am truly grateful. Oh and I promise my next post won’t be so corny.

n502095852_839748_6245.jpg 

 n502095852_839747_58861.jpg

(Photos courtesy of Liz Lee) 

Comments Off on All the Small Things

Filed under On Campus, Sports

Comments are closed.